When you go on vacation, you get a chance to relax and have fun. Visiting east Tennessee near Pigeon Forge and Gatlinburg provides you multiple options to have fun. The area offers several great restaurants, amusement parks and a backdrop of the Great Smoky Mountains. You can also visit multiple moonshine distilleries.
For some tourists, fun and relaxation can mean drinking and driving. But being on vacation does not prevent from getting a DUI.
Strict Tennessee laws
Tennessee has strict laws when it comes to drinking and driving. A first-time DUI can mean 48 hours to seven days in jail. Fines can be from $350 to $1500. And a judge may take away your license for a year.
In addition to paying the actual costs of the DUI, being from out of state means you may have to travel back to Tennessee for trial proceedings. This can mean taking time off work and paying for travel expenses.
Avoiding a DUI
While many tourists visit east Tennessee, the towns they visit are small. This can mean a lack of transportation options. However, Pigeon Forge and Gatlinburg both have trolley systems. These trolleys run from 8:30 a.m. to midnight during the tourist seasons. They go through the main areas of both towns and stop at several tourist attractions like Dollywood, The Island of Pigeon Forge and Ripley’s Aquarium of the Smokies.
Local taxis are also available in the area. If you are traveling outside of the routes of the trolley system, a handful of taxi services can give you a ride.
These different options give you a choice to have a fun vacation without risking a DUI. This will ensure you have the best time possible while visiting a beautiful and unique part of the country.