Do you know the real consequences of a DUI in Tennessee?

If the police charge you with a DUI in Tennessee, do you know what will happen? Every state penalizes DUIs in similar but individual ways. If you are unaware of the consequences, you might be unpleasantly surprised.

What are the penalties for a DUI?

Your penalties will depend on the charges against you. For example, if someone is hurt or you are underage, you will face harsher penalties than a person of legal age at a routine traffic stop. The following are typical penalties for a DUI offense.

  1. After your first DUI offense with a BAC under .20, you face mandatory 48-hours in jail. With a BAC over .20, it is a mandatory seven days in jail. After that, you could face up to a $1,500 fine, almost 12 months in jail and an alcohol treatment program.
  2. After your second DUI offense, you face a minimum of 45 days and up to one year in jail, up to a $3,500 fine, your license revoked for two years, an ignition interlock device (installed at your expense) or restricted license and even vehicle confiscation.
  3. After your third DUI offense, you face a minimum of 120 days and up to one year in jail, up to $10,000 in fines, your license revoked for six to ten years, no possibility of obtaining a restricted license and possible vehicle confiscation.

Additional DUI offenses only climb higher and higher in fees and jail time. Any damage that happens because of you drinking and driving could add criminal or civil charges as well as additional fines.

What other fees can you expect?

Other than your fines associated with the crime, a DUI has plenty of hidden costs. The following are other fines and fees associated with a DUI:

  • Towing fees
  • Increase in insurance premiums
  • Court fees, attorney fees
  • License reinstatement fees
  • Damages or medical bills for injured parties
  • Losing job or position at school
  • Transportation fees to alcohol treatment program

Before you get behind the wheel, think seriously about your choice to drink. DUIs cost far more than you may realize, and can hurt for far longer than any bruises or broken bones.

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information
Email Us For a Response

Learn How We Can Help You

Tell Us About Your Legal Issue

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information
disclaimer.

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.

close

Privacy Policy

Personal Legal Services In The Sevier County Area

129 Commerce St
Sevierville, TN 37862

Toll Free: 800-300-4635
Phone: 865-280-1084
Fax: 865-428-1197
Sevierville Law Office Map