If you or a loved one has been arrested on criminal charges, you will likely have many concerns about your criminal defense. Fortunately, the dedicated legal professionals at Shults Law Office are available to answer any questions you may have.
Below, please find some of the more frequent questions posed to us by our clients. However, keep in mind that every case is different, so you should contact us directly with specific concerns.
What should I do if charged with a crime?
The first thing you should do is contact us to discuss your case. Once you retain us as your defense counsel, we will walk you through the entire legal process and fully explain your rights and options. We will also work with prosecutors before trial to discuss whether a beneficial plea agreement is possible. Ultimately, our goal is to keep you out of jail.
What types of criminal cases does Shults Law Office handle?
Our legal professionals have experience with almost every type of criminal defense case, including DWI/DUI, assaults, drug crimes, thefts, drug offenses, sex crimes, probation violations and even offenses committed by juveniles. However, even if we do not handle a particular area of the law, we will be able to refer you to someone who does.
What payment options are available?
At Shults Law Office, we have many flexible payment plans available. We will do whatever we can to help find an option that works best for you. We also accept all forms of payment, including cash, check, credit card and debit card.
If arrested on DWI/DUI charges in Tennessee, can I be punished for refusing a Breathalyzer?
Yes, if police reasonably believe you have been driving under the influence, you may have your license revoked for one year if you refuse a Breathalyzer test. Before deciding whether to refuse, however, you must carefully weigh all of your options.
How is marijuana possession penalized in Tennessee?
In most cases, marijuana possession is punished as a class A misdemeanor so long as less than one-half ounce of the drug is involved in the alleged offense. However, if more than one-half ounce is present, or if you have two prior convictions, it may be a felony-level offense. As with any drug offense, you need to speak to an experienced attorney.
Is theft a misdemeanor or felony in Tennessee?
It depends. If the alleged offense involves the theft of property or services valued at more than $500, it is a felony. Alternatively, if the property is only valued at $500 or less, it is only a misdemeanor.
What happens if I violate my probation?
Following a probation violation, the state will most likely send you to jail in order to serve your entire original sentence. However, you can fight this decision if you choose.
Contact Shults Law Office Today For A Free Initial Consultation
If you have any questions about Tennessee criminal law, contact Shults Law Office to speak to an experienced lawyer. While our office is located in Sevierville, we assist clients throughout the surrounding areas, including those in the cities of Pigeon Forge and Gatlinburg. Reach out to us online or call us at 865-280-1084.